Education Preparation Council

What is EPC?

Education Preparation Council at the University of Mississippi brings together representatives from the University, School of Education, and Community Schools to participate in undergraduate and graduate instruction of students preparing to meet licensure requirements concerning nature, structure, standards, requirements, and practices in Teacher Education and Leadership.

Who serves on EPC?

EPC is chaired by the Teacher Education Department Chair and consist of faculty from the University and school administrators, teachers, and community partners associated with or supportive of programs that prepare school professionals.

This council is a collaborative advisory body to the School of Education.

University Members  
Department Chair, Teacher Education Dr. Susan McClelland
Assistant Department Chair, Teacher Education Dr. Denise Soares
Assistant Dean of Assessment, SOE Dr. Ann Monroe
Appointed Member by TE Chair Dr. Ellen Shelton
Appointed Member by TE Chair Dr. Alice Steimle
Appointed Member by LCE Chair Dr. Amanda Winburn
Coordinator of Field Placement, SOE Mrs. Cindy Misita
Elementary Coordinator Dr. Virginia Moore
Community Members  
Elementary Principal (Oxford) Marni Herrington
Elementary Principal (Pontotoc) Dr. Avence Pitman, Jr.
Elementary Supervisor Beth Saul
Elementary Teacher/Clinical Instructor Erica Avent
Middle School Assistant Principal (Tupelo) Talina Knight
Assistant Superintendent (Oxford) Bradley Roberson
Secondary Supervisor Jolee Hussey
Secondary Teacher/Clinical Instructor Mary Margaret King
Special Education Director (Lafayette) Jennifer Osborne Ryan
Special Education Teacher/Clinical Instructor Whitney Drewey

Mission of EPC

The mission of the Educator Preparation Council (EPC) is to develop, refine, and improve clinical practice, curriculum, and partnerships. 

The EPC meets this mission through:

  • Encouraging and supporting licensure programs at University of Mississippi
  • Developing policies in all unit-wide matters relating to educator preparation programs.
  • Monitoring state and national policies and overseeing how the unit implements state and national accreditation standards and licensing requirements.
  • To encourage networking, collaboration and professional development among teacher education program faculty and partners.
  • Promoting collaborations among the university, P-12 education partners, and other external state and national education constituencies.


The council meets twice a year (once each semester) at the direction of the chair and also communicates throughout the year to make decisions and recommendations through an online collaboration site.

Members will serve two-years.